Safe space, my space

I just read this article by Judith Gayle, who is as ever amazingly frank and astute:

We humans have various energy fields that overlap: physical, emotional, mental. Each has its own frequency, existing as layers in a single space. Emotions have a resonant signal; they attract more of the same, and send signals to those who match, drawing them in. Fear is a particularly dense vibration; a teeth-rattling one. It works like a magnet to pull more fear toward it. Literally, that’s how we get ‘what we deserve.’

When we choose to connect with people, we make a choice to share energy fields, and we take it on faith that they’ll be respected. We all have such spaces be they in the home, in the work place, the car, or even in the mind or the psyche. The dreamspace it seems to me is one such space where possibilities we don’t even consider can get played out. Likewise, this blog is a similar space, as I wrote recently about my 100-Acre Wood.


Too bad if people think the psychic drain of coming down with the flu is trivial. You don’t know me, and you don’t know my circumstances. Sometimes, especially when I’m trying to maintain my sanity by typing in bed (I haven’t been able to get out for five days), the stories don’t come out right or as clearly as I want them to. As I said from the beginning, it’s a space for me to think, and feel, aloud. If you don’t like what I’m thinking or feeling or how I’m saying it, you’re not obliged to hang around, but don’t tell me what I should or shouldn’t be doing.

Image: Screenshot from Citizen Kane.

8 Responses to Safe space, my space

  1. neithonastrology says:

    Exactly! It’s your life, your body and you know what’s best for you. And if you don’t . . . re-read the first part.

    From one born contrary to another. 😀

    You read dear Donna C’s post on “Being Right” or self-justification – a pervasive problem these days. We all need to take a deep breath and step back, allowing each other to practice an age old means of learning – making our own mistakes. Thank you very much!!

    Wishing you a speedy recovery. ((((HH72))))

  2. hitchhiker72 says:

    Thanks, Neith. I did read Donna C’s post – it’s very good. What can I say, it’s the Age of the Narcissist!

  3. Z says:

    I don`t care for that statement , ” get what we deserve “—–many predators deliberately increase the fear reaction in people…..so they can then feed on it. I don`t think blaming the prey ( victim ) of predator is the correct thing to do.

  4. hitchhiker72 says:

    Hi Z, thanks for the comment. The phrase is put in quotation marks by the writer. She is being ironic in the context of the rest of the article, and critical of fearmongering.

  5. Ann says:

    When you put yourself into the public domain, as you have by publishing your blog, you can’t ask people to only respond to you in a way that you like.

    If that’s the way you want it, keep a private journal.

  6. hitchhiker72 says:

    Ann, that logic works both ways. I haven’t prevented people from responding. Neither have I deleted the comments. I’ve simply exercised my right to reply and to hold the view that there are constructive comments and unconstructive ones. I have also responded to the comments rather than the character of the persons commenting. Yes, we all have the right to say what we like, but it’s not unreasonable to expect civility.

  7. Ann says:

    You take the high road by saying that you expect civility and then go to twitter and make comment about “RUDE” people.

    Basta…I was intrigued by your blog a few weeks ago and added it to my feed but I’ll take it off. Geez, I never make comments on blogs…I hope this does not mean that I am going to be obnoxious for the next 7 months…I wouldn’t be able to stand myself ;-). truly.

  8. lucywatchthesky says:

    Quick, Hitch, put Ann’s doorknob in your mouth too! 🙂

    Seriously, feel better soon. It’s so hard to admit defeat when you’re sick, but sometimes it’s the only chance for rest you’ve got.

