Poleaxed!

I’ve tweeted and whined on a couple of occasions this week about being floored with the flu. I think it’s partly the result of a drain by that energy vampire I talked about earlier.

Yes, it’s the flu season but the timing, suddenness and severity of my condition made me think. I am a sixth house person, health matters to me, and I’m usually sick only once every couple of years. The last time I was this badly floored was after spending an intense three days resisting property agents trying to palm off sewage holes as liveable spaces.


After the fiasco at work two weeks ago, I was working on recovering my sanity, steadily meeting my own deadlines, and doing things I like and hanging out with people I like, i.e. nothing to do with her. Just before Venus, ruler of my sixth, met transiting Saturn conjunct my natal Pluto (which felt like my health had crashed into a wall), I got a call from my boss, who’d left me a voice message when I missed the call. Against my better judgement, I rang her back, at night after hours (always a bad idea). She wanted to know if I was feeling better (she said I’d looked really tired the week before!), and when she could take me out for dinner: ‘Where would you like to go? What would you like to have? Is there a film you want to see?’

I said ‘no, thanks’ to everything but then couldn’t get out of bed the next day, Jupiter direct notwithstanding. No sneezes, no coughs, no aches or pains prior to this. Which makes me this this is part of being drained by an energy vamp. Her offer was made in such a way that the recipient is made to decide what to do and where to go so rejecting the offer makes them churlish and unreasonable. She does this all the time. She has no genuine interest in films or in nice food or in people only insofar as they are hooks that force you to consider asking her the next time you plan on seeing a film or going to a restaurant. The relationship dynamic would be completely different if the offer were open: ‘There’s a new restaurant in town, would you like to go?’

‘I’d like to take you out, tell me where you would like to go’ is something else altogether — manipulation masquerading as generosity. Ironic that before I could take Lucy’s advice to infect her (like I was really going to!), she did it back to me first!

Image: Fisher Price Great Adventures.

6 Responses to Poleaxed!

  1. Ann says:

    get a life.

  2. hitchhiker72 says:

    Mars in Leo, right on cue.

  3. magawisca says:

    you have the potential to build a following. why are you squandering your talent with posts like these? you are better than this. where is your mindfulness?

  4. hitchhiker72 says:

    I think it got the flu.

  5. Z says:

    I agree—stressful events weaken the immune system, making you more suseptible to viruses…..

  6. hitchhiker72 says:

    Thank you. I appreciate the goodwill.

