Lunar eclipse conjunct Mars: Lights go out

The recent Capricorn lunar eclipse didn’t seem to have affected me in a dramatic way, but more subtly. The eclipse occurred a few degrees away from my Mars and I know I woke up on the day feeling like my fire had been put out. I was fortunate enough to take the day off.


I realised over the past few days that little lights are going out in my life, burning out. Nothing explosive, just extinguished like the flame of a candle at the end of the wick. Most of these lights are old ideas about myself and others, especially ideas of myself in relation to others (my natal Mars is in the 7th). This has manifested as people disappearing from my life, whose presence and attention I no longer wish to cultivate.

I’ve always been ambivalent about amputation (not enough Scorpio in my chart!), never quite working out where the fine line lies between respecting the other’s right to their own decisions and actions, and the right for those actions to abuse mine.

I have a friend who is a chronic canceller. In other words, she makes arrangements with me only until something more important comes along. I’m the stand-by. I’m Gemini flexible, so am mostly okay about it. But today I decided I wasn’t going to be okay about it. Not especially when she didn’t even have the courtesy to ring and apologise in person, only delivered an announcement via email an hour before we were due to meet. If I didn’t happen to check my email then, I’d be there right now, waiting. Do I want to ring her and make a fuss? Not really. I don’t have the energy. My Mars is still asleep.

As the old lights go out, new ones seem to be appearing on the horizon. I met some new people and discussed some new projects yesterday. Nothing signed on dotted lines yet, but they’re promising.

Bring on the solar eclipse (she says).

4 Responses to Lunar eclipse conjunct Mars: Lights go out

  1. nray says:

    The eclipse happened in my 11th: feeling very aliented where my friends are concerned.

  2. hitchhiker72 says:

    Hey, nray, this period is very, very strange. I’m now waiting to see what it’s like on the other side of the eclipse.

  3. juliedemboski says:

    Hi hitch,

    There’s something incredibly sensitive in what you’re saying here–the little lights going out in your life gave me a chill–thanks for sharing it, and I hope we get to hear how this shapes your view.

    And thanks for the link (what a surprise when I clicked on . . . my own post!)

    jd

  4. hitchhiker72 says:

    Hi Julie

    I read on Aquarius Papers (http://www.aquariuspapers.com/) that eclipses ‘shut down old lights so other lights may be glimpsed’ and that image stuck with me. It certainly felt that way with the last lunar eclipse. Like little tea lights going out, to be replaced by others – soon, I hope!

    Your writing is always inspirational. I clicked with it the first time I read you on sasstrology.com. I learned a lot. So thanks!

    hh72

