Having lost sight of our goals, we re-double our efforts!

591521_mandala21
I was listening this morning to a talk by Mark Lesser on ‘Doing Less’ (dated 1 March 2009), hosted on the San Francisco Zen Center website. He mentioned one of those pithy Zen sayings:

Having lost sight of our goals, we re-double our efforts.


Lesser’s talk was on doing less, with specific reference to the whirlpool of activity we all fill our lives with. Ironically, what I had been doing less of was practice… I found some time to re-double my efforts these past couple of days, and as it is with sitting practice, I wonder why I don’t do it more often when sitting more precisely enables me to do less of the frenetic dance we call modern life.

Image: Mandala 2. Source: stock.xchng

Comments are closed.

