Bloggers’ meme: what lies beneath

I picked up this bloggers’ meme from mm. These are the rules:

  1. Pick up the nearest book (of at least 123 pages).
  2. Open the book to page 123.
  3. Find the fifth sentence.
  4. Post the next three sentences.
  5. Tag five people.

I picked up a novel I have been reading on and off for the past few months. It is Banana Yoshimoto‘s Amrita (1994). She has a way of capturing the quirky and the off-beat within the ordinary, that somehow encapsulates the alienation, and yet also the capacity for curiosity and wonder, of modern life.

Koi Fish and Waterlily


Page 123 of my edition is the end of Chapter 7 (I’ve only read to page 93 so far), so it only has about five sentences on it. However, rather than pick another book, I’ve opted to post the last three sentences on the page:

‘That’s something you’ll have to learn later,’ I said, knowing full well that a popular singer, a Brazilian grand prix winner, and an American neurologist had nothing to do with one another. I figured they’d give more persuasion to my argument, so I tried to fool my brother by dropping their names.

Because I’ve always thought the best catch in the world is one that passes right underneath you.

Such a deft twist even in just the few sentences I’ve quoted. Two events linked by completely different motivations: (1) the speaker drops names to fool her brother, and (2) does so out of her own belief that ‘the best catch in the world is one that passes right underneath you’.

How often have we tried to influence someone’s actions (however well-intentioned) because of our own belief in how the world ought to be?

* * *

P.S. It is sufficient for me to have picked up a lesson from this, so I am not going to tag anyone, but if you feel motivated to pick up the meme, leave me a comment. Thanks.

Image: Koi fish and waterlily. Source: stock.xchng

2 Responses to Bloggers’ meme: what lies beneath

  1. mm says:

    Wow. What an intelligent and off-beat use of the meme. And good to be introduced to a new author. I do it more than I’m comfortable admitting (trying to influence someone’s actions, I mean…). Thanks hitchiker72.

  2. hitchhiker72 says:

    Hi mm, thanks for stopping by.

    ‘I do it more than I’m comfortable admitting (trying to influence someone’s actions, I mean…).’

    So do I.

