The dogma of compassion

Not many would deny that compassion is a virtue. Some would even say it is the opposite of dogma. On a fundamental level, that is true. Yet it is possible for compassion to become dogmatic when it is defined too narrowly, and begins to take on a form of brutal piety.

I had this bizarre exchange with a friend recently. Here’s how it went. The details have been altered slightly but the form is essentially the same.

Friend: Hi, how’re you?

Me: Not too good. I’ve just had some bad news… [I was about to explain that someone I was close to had died, so I was feeling particularly fragile.]

Friend: Hey, you know, my bunions are giving me trouble again. I could barely do my shopping at the supermarket. I was hobbling as I pushed the cart. Even the old ladies were giving me funny looks. [The said bunions had been the topic of many a dreary conversation for several months.]

Me: I’m sorry, but I can’t really talk about your feet today.

Friend (defensive and irate): Don’t you care about my health!? Where’s your compassion?

Me: Urrr…?


True story. The more I tried to explain, the more ridiculous the conversation went.

Friend: Don’t you care?

Me: I’m really sorry. It’s not that I don’t care. Something happened today …

Friend: Caring is caring! Either you care or you don’t!

Me: Are we really having this conversation? Can I talk to you about my day?

Friend: Look, let me ask you 2 questions.

Me: Okay.

Friend: 1. Are you physically injured?

Me: No.

Friend: 2. Have you lost your job?

Me: No.

Friend: 3. Has your house been flooded or burned down?

Me (frustrated): That’s a third question.

Friend: You’re incredible! And you call yourself a Buddhist?

Me (verging on the distraught): What was that about?

Friend: If you answered ‘no’ to any of those questions, then you’ll survive!

Did I somehow land in Bizarro World? Had I been abducted by aliens, or mind-altered? At the time, I felt blindsided and distressed, but in hindsight, I wonder if it wasn’t a case of severe me-ism or undiagnosed bipolar disorder (no disrespect to genuine sufferers). This is from a person who publicly describes themselves as ‘Very Compassionate’. Yes, spelled with the capital letters like a badge or a label, followed by ‘And I expect you to be the same’! Truly a farce worthy of Dickens. Though caught up in it as I was, it was probably more like suddenly being swept into a Chekhovian universe.

Needless to say, the relationship didn’t survive Pluto’s station direct.

4 Responses to The dogma of compassion

  1. Dunya says:

    Dump this person.

  2. muddytaurus says:

    I have had a very similar experience recently, and done the same…is it narcissism on their part? They even managed to insult me as they wandered off.. No tolerance.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

