Spiked!

In these trying economic times, my workplace is becoming more and more toxic. So much fear and tension and anxiety about. Not to mention the hostility.

I’m noticing that when some people are threatened, they can throw out spikes from their energy fields, even when their words are officious and polite. The spikes can emanate even from an email — I can virtually feel it bristling.

I received one of those emails this morning and spent half the day dragging the negativity around with me until I was reminded to distinguish what was mine and what wasn’t. Judith Orloff offers some advice on how to separate one’s own emotions from others’, especially if you tend to absorb them like a sponge.

I read a blog post a long time ago (can’t seem to find it now) about the importance of remembering to ask the question: ‘Whose garbage is this and what is it doing in my bag?’ Whose garbage are we carrying around and why do we continue to do so?

In the days before the Taurus new moon, I feel the urge for a psychic spring clean.

Image source: Pufferfish, Wikimedia Commons

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

