Healing Pluto Problems

In honour of Pluto going direct on 11 September 2009, I thought I’d share some thoughts about Donna Cunningham‘s book, Healing Pluto Problems, whose title I’ve borrowed for the title of this post.

I picked up this book on Neith’s recommendation. It is not as heavy-going as Judy Hall’s Hades Moon, which I’ve written about here and also like for different reasons. Rather, Cunningham’s book contextualises Plutonian issues (deep transformation, sex, death, guilt, resentment and so on) in terms of the things one can do to mitigate their effects, whether one is the Plutonian or on the receiving end of one. And it could well be both — Plutonians tend to attract other Plutonians.

Being a Plutonian herself, Cunningham exhibits great empathy for the depth and intensity of Plutonian feelings. If there are ‘problems’ with being Plutonian, it is not the natures of Plutonians that are put on the line, only a lack of understanding (and resources) in wider society to address them. The book does not victimise Plutonian native either — each one is required to take responsibility for their own actions and feelings, and the author is quick to point out that the unevolved can quite easily turn their Plutonian power on others and themselves.


Here is an excerpt from the section on emotional honesty that stayed with me:

It is important that you acknowledge your own feelings, if feelings do come up in the course of working with Plutonians. These people can be quite provocative and controlling, and it is better to say when you think this is going on, if it is making you feel uncomfortable. They would respect you more for not falling for the game. They will also respect and trust you more if you are honest about your feelings: for instance, if they are making you angry. You will recall that one of the reasons Plutonians became secretive is that people around them as they grew up lied about how they were feeling and also tried to stop Plutonians from expressing their own emotions. (192)

It is important to note that the author’s suggestions do not trivialise the issues, even though the solutions are offered as useful and practical tools for easing the transition. Because that’s all one can do with a Pluto aspect or transit — ease the transition with awareness and compassion, with some help from visualization techniques, meditation, flower essences, psychotherapy, and so on. Pretending it isn’t taking place is ultimately futile — indeed, the Borg are probably Plutonian sans compassion, hell-bent on assimilating without awareness (see also this article by Jeffrey Kishner).

Mystic Medusa writes in a subscriber’s post that it is worth considering a Pluto direct ritual, advice I think I can share without transgressing her boundaries (here’s one of her free blog posts). However you choose to perform your ritual, honour what must be shed, face your fears and open yourself to the phoenix that will rise from the ashes.

Here are a few of my earlier posts on Pluto and my own Pluto problems:

7 Responses to Healing Pluto Problems

  1. nray says:

    Gonna check the links tonight!

  2. Hello, hitchhiker. I found you through a link on my blog and wanted to say thank you for your kind words about my book, Healing Pluto Problems. It’s very nearly an antique now because it was published over 20 years ago, but I’m still hearing from folks who found it helpful and relevant to their current issues. Had I the stamina, I’d revise it to include more of the healing tools and long-term vision gathered through 20 years more of livin’ la vida Pluto.

    So of course, I had to graze your site to read more of your insights on how to handle Pluto with mindfulness. I’m a former Buddhist, now an Ascension seeker, and so I like your approach very much. I especially liked your article, Encountering the Shoulds, and wondered if you’d let me feature you as a guest blogger on Sky Writer and reprint it. It’s a good, constructive take on one Capricornian trait. Donna

  3. lucywatchthesky says:

    I’m going to have to read Healing Pluto Problems. I think a lot of the reasons I get as stuck in my bad moments as I do has a lot to do with Pluto- and I’ve repeatedly told therapists, “I’d rather put myself down than be a total dictator to other people.” (Neither option is particularly healthy.)

    (p.s. I had no idea you’ve been writing a Mercury retrograde blog for like three and a half years. I’m going to check it out in detail on my next study break.)

  4. hitchhiker72 says:

    Donna – it would be fantastic if you could revise the Pluto book! There would be much to say about Pluto in Sag. But I understand that you’re very busy! (I’m going to have a look at your e-books soon).

    Lucy – I’d never intended this blog to be so astrology heavy originally. It started as a way of putting thoughts into words, since I’m one of those that can’t feel until I think it. As time went on, astrology just became more and more useful as a language to think and articulate those thoughts, and I’m very grateful to have found a supportive cyber-community among yourself, Neeti, Neith, Julie Demboski and others.

    The Mercury retrograde blog began as a learning tool for myself and as a way of making sense of how it was driving me crazy! (Sun-Merc-Saturn in Gemini — needs control). But of course it’s not updated as often as I’d like, because well, stuff always gets delayed when the next retrograde comes round… and I never feel like writing about rx stuff when Mercury’s direct…

  5. nray says:

    To borrow and rephrase what Abba said, “Thank you for the writing.” To all of you!

  6. Z says:

    Thanks to all of you for shining your light out into the world ( via your writing) to help peeps like me navigate the Plutonian Vibes……much appreciated !!!

  7. Hello again, Hitchhiker. I wanted to let you and your readers know that there is a new collection of 15 articles about Pluto transits as part of the International Astrology Day Blogathon, on line as a permanent resource during the cardinal t-square. You can see it here:

    http://skywriter.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/pluto-problems-got-you-perplexed-heres-what-helps/.

    There are separate collections about Saturn and Uranus and also one about using flower essences and astrology together. See the whole collection here:

    http://2010astrologycarnival.wordpress.com/2010/03/07/the-cardinal-t-square-of-2010-saturn-uranus-pluto/

    The collections are excellent and I think people will find them very helpful. Donna Cunningham

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

