Grateful for zazen

862412_hand_of_buddha The past few months have been rather trying, and while I can easily point to Pluto (see past few posts), ‘blaming’ the transits is missing the point. Life happens. Learning about Pluto is a means of understanding what’s happening. A means of coping with it is practice.


As Brad Warner says in his book which I quote below, it doesn’t matter what you think or feel about zazen, you just did it. And I have. Half an hour, twice a day for a couple of weeks now. I know my attempts to sit regularly drop off time and again so I’m not going to pat myself on the back, only to share an experience.

The past few weeks have been rough personally and professionally. Still, when my insides were churning, I sat. When I was checking the timer every 5 minutes, I sat. When my face was flushed with the memories of things that went wrong in the day, I sat.

And suddenly tonight, just for an instant, I felt a sense of gratitude. It passed quickly, but having had a flash of it seemed enough to imbue the returned agitation with a different quality. I don’t know how else to put it.

Life happens.
We sit.
I’m grateful.

(Almost a haiku?)

Image: Hand of Buddha. Source: stock.xchng.

2 Responses to Grateful for zazen

  1. Z says:

    ……just stumbled in here……I`m so on the same page !!! Dealing with a Pluto/natal Moon Square at the moment….getting clobbered…every emotion I have ever had seems to be vomiting and purging up and out…..not a pretty site. Good advice on finding your Spiritual Center amidst the outer chaos…….sitting Zazen seems to be a good remedy….thanks….and good luck with your Pluto/Venus ride.

  2. hitchhiker72 says:

    Hey, Z, thanks. Though I’d never wish this turmoil on anyone, it is allways good to know one is not alone!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

